A selection of tracks chosen by PJ Harvey.

1. Clair de Lune – Claude Debussy
2. Morning Of – Colin Stetson
3. Miki Dora – Amen Dunes
4. We Are The People – Empire Of The Sun
5. 23:52 – Olafur Arnalds
6. Crest – Captain Beefheart & His Magic Band
7. It’s Choade My Dear – Conan Mockasin
8. Klemperer Walks – Thom Yorke
9. Lilac In Hand – Amen Dunes
10. Aurora Borealis – Colin Stetson
11. The Axe – Thom Yorke

Listen now on Spotify.


Available digitally now through Invada Records, ‘The Virtues – Original Series Soundtrack’ includes 5 original pieces of music composed by PJ Harvey as well as a new song ‘The Crowded Cell’, featured in the series closing credits. The album also features tracks by Aphex Twin, Lisa Hannigan, Set Fire to Flames and Toydrum. Full track list below.

A new video to accompany ‘The Crowded Cell’ is also released today. Shot on old VHS and starring actor Lee Pepper, who plays the young Joseph, watch the video below or at YouTube.com/PJHarvey.

1. PJ Harvey – Prayer
2. Set Fire To Flames – When Sorrow Shoots Her Darts
3. Toydrum – Jesus Song (Rival Consoles Rework)
4. Micah P. Hinson – Beneath The Rose
5. PJ Harvey – Submerge
6. PJ Harvey – Death
7. Lisa Hannigan – Flowers
8. MONO – The Flames Beyond The Cold Mountain
9. Aphex Twin – Gwely Mernans
10. Ted Barnes ft. Gavin Clark – If The Truth Hurts
11. PJ Harvey – The Lonely Wolf
12. Gazelle Twin – Cutting Into Flesh
13. PJ Harvey – Subterranean
14. PJ Harvey – The Crowded Cell

Spotify: http://bit.ly/TheVirtuesSp
Apple Music: http://bit.ly/TheVirtuesAp

Written by Shane Meadows and starring BAFTA-nominated Stephen Graham (This is England, ’86, ’88, ’90, Boardwalk Empire, Line of Duty) as Joseph, alongside Irish actors Helen Behan and Niamh Algar, the four-part drama series ‘The Virtues’ tackles themes of repressed memory, apocalyptic revenge and the hope of redemption. It has received great acclaim by UK critics, particularly for the superb acting performances, and the exceptionally powerful writing and directing. The series has already won the Grand Prix and Best Actor Awards at 2019’s SERIES MANIA, one of Europe’s biggest TV events.

Photo: Dean Rogers
Photo: Dean Rogers

‘The Crowded Cell’, from the Shane Meadows Channel 4 series ‘The Virtues’, is released today on Spotify, Apple Music and other streaming services. Listen here:
Spotify: https://spoti.fi/2WqkrLG
Apple Music: https://apple.co/2VXZpF2

‘The Virtues’ airs in the UK on Wednesday nights on Channel 4 throughout May. It’s also available to watch online at https://www.channel4.com/programmes/the-virtues.

The Crowded Cell artwork
Photo credit: Dean Rogers

‘The Virtues’, featuring original music by PJ Harvey, begins on Wednesday 15th May at 9pm GMT on Channel 4.

The 4-part drama tackles themes of repressed memory, apocalyptic revenge and the hope of redemption.

‘The Virtues’ stars BAFTA-nominated Stephen Graham (This is England, ’86, ’88, ’90, Boardwalk Empire, Taboo, Line of Duty) alongside Irish actors Helen Behan and Niamh Algar.

“I am so happy to have provided the original music for this extraordinary and powerful new drama by a director I have admired and followed all my life,” says Harvey. “Shane has a unique directness and sensitivity to his work which I am drawn to and aspire to in my own work, so our collaboration was open and trusting. I sent Shane ideas as demos for him to try out as he edited and let him choose what he used and where to the greatest effect. In the end we both loved how the demos worked so left them as they were, adding to the raw beauty of the piece.”

‘The Crowded Cell,’ a new song by PJ Harvey, closes each of the 4 episodes.

The trailer for ‘The Virtues’ can be viewed here: https://youtu.be/DOons8oVsmE

Stephen Graham stars in Shane Meadows' 'The Virtues'
Stephen Graham stars in Shane Meadows’ ‘The Virtues’


Listen to two tracks – ‘Descending’ and ‘The Moth’ – here.

Invada Records in conjunction with Lakeshore Records have today released All About Eve – Original Soundtrack, composed by PJ Harvey.  The 12-track album contains 10 original pieces of instrumental music as well as two new songs written by Harvey and sung by Gillian Anderson and Lily James.  Harvey’s score for All About Eve, is performed by herself, James Johnston and Kenrick Roweand uses Franz Liszt’s ‘Liebesträume’ (a musical element of Joseph L. Mankiewicz’s original 1950s classic film) as a musical touchstone, exploring the more somber and deeply psychological aspects of the story.  The album is produced by PJ Harvey, with additional production and mixing from Adam ‘Cecil’ Bartlett.

Harvey began her collaboration with theatre director Ivo van Hove late 2018 for a modern stage adaptation of the classic 1950 Academy Award-winning film. The play, starring Gillian Anderson (X-Files, The Fall, American Gods, Sex Education) and Lily James (Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again, Baby Driver) will run until May 11 at London’s Noël Coward Theatre in the West End.

On composing this score, Harvey says, “I have always loved stories, and so to compose music to support and enhance a story being told is a challenge I enjoy. I also love the freedom that working instrumentally can give me without the constraints of song form.” 

“For All About Eve I chose to work with my long-time collaborator James Johnston as he has a soulfulness and sensitivity to his playing that inspires me. I also worked with Kenrick Rowe who has a versatility to his drumming I knew I could experiment with until I found what was right.”

In addition to creating the play’s sonic landscape (with sound designer Tom Gibbons), Harvey also wrote two new songs for the play’s lead actors: Gillian Anderson performs ‘The Sandman’, and Lily James, ‘The Moth.’

“Ivo wanted to take the play into a non-specific era, so I suggested that in a party scene we could play a contemporary piece of mine, or a song that Margot could sing rather than the existing piano piece by Liszt. Ivo loved this idea and thought that it would be good for Eve to sing a song too, so I worked on songs that had the emotion and lyrics that would be fitting for their characters at the time they appear in the play. Gillian and Lily have brought the songs alive and made them their own, and I think they give very moving performances both on the recordings and on stage.” 

Van Hove describes Harvey’s score as, “Very simple, but in its simplicity, it’s complex.  The images that she uses are very concrete, but at the same time little bit mythical.  A song can bring into a few minutes a huge world alive.  Where we in the theater need perhaps five or six pages to establish it, a song can do that within a few lines.”

The Sandman (featuring Gillian Anderson)
The Moth (featuring Lily James)
Arpeggio Waltz
Change in C

Original Score Album Cover Art
Photo Credit: Perou. Art Design: Marc Bessant